iShot (kind of)

I like many of the photography apps I have on my iPhone and DSLR Camera Remote is the latest one to capture (no pun intended) my attention.  While a lot of the photo apps are somewhat gimicky, this is one I can really use in the real world.  Really.  With it I can remotely control my camera and make adjustments to shutter speed, f-stop, white balance etc.  I can even adjust exposure compensation on the fly.  Nice! And there is an intervalometer and bracketing control.  Of course, these wonderful controls come on the $20.00 version of the app, while you can get the $1.99 version and just have the ability to fire the camera.  I learned about this amazing bit of technology from Moose Peterson’s Blog,  you should have this bookmarked if you don’t already.  I have not had the time to really work with this app yet but in the short time I have spent with it I can say it is awesome.  I have fired my camera remotely with Pocket Wizards in the past and they are great because of the range they give me. But all I can do with them is release the shutter.  With DSLR Camera Remote I can see LIve View on my iPhone screen, focus and shoot.  Really cool.

IMG_0400This is an amazing shot of a window in my office.  Ooooh.  Aaaah.  This is what the screen looks like on the iPhone when the camera is connected.

For me, the only drawback is that the camera has to be tethered to a computer, Mac or Windows.  And it won’t work with my D2X, only my D700. And I hear it works on those Canon thingies, too.  This makes setting the camera up in some remote location a bit more difficult.  Or harrowing, like say behind a soccer goal or in a tree.  I can’t say if this works with wireless remotes but I would think so.   On the other hand, I can see where this will be fantastic in a studio or on some location shoots where you have creatives who want to see the shots on a computer as they come out of the camera.  Shoot to a download folder (your choice) and (in my case) set up Lightroom2 to download from that folder and the images come up on the screen of the laptop, ready for any creative to look and ask questions. I also like that this frees me from being behind the camera while shooting.  What if I’m working with monkeys?  Or even worse, cats! (you thought I was going to say “children”, right?)   I can’t control them while hiding behind the camera!

This app works on the iPhone and iPod Touch.  I don’t know what happens if a phone call comes in while using this on an iPhone so I have something to look forward to.  I just bought the app from the iTunes store, synced my iPhone, downloaded the DSLR Remote Server software from the onOne Software website, plugged in the camera, the camera picked up my laptop on a wireless connection and I started shooting.  It took me all of five minutes.  It was that easy.  If your looking for a solution for a camera remote and you have an iPhone or iPod touch, this is the way to go.

Leave a Reply

