Thoughts on portrait photography

LesliePrintThis Saturday a group of photographers I hang out with and I are doing a photoshoot for military families at a local Army base.  This is something that was started by one of our photogs this year and we do this in conjunction with an event called Military Family Appreciation held on the base.  We feel it is a way to do something nice for the men and women who serve in the armed forces and make a lot of sacrifices for our country.  I did a four year stint in the Army years ago and my father was a retired Army officer so I have a good understanding of what soldiers and their families must endure.  I am really looking forward to this and I’ve been working with my lighting to see if I could something different.  I don’t think I came up with anything new but we’ll see.

The picture above is one I made of my wife, Leslie, a few months ago.  She was kind enough to sit for me after a long day of work, another blessing for her being married to a photographer.  But she is always kind and plays along as I tweak my lights and work things out.  In the end I got a picture I really like.  I can only hope that this Saturday I can do some nice pictures for the military families.  Something that will have meaning for someone.

 

 

One Comment to “Thoughts on portrait photography”

  1. What a beautiful portrait! You can make anyone look good!

Leave a Reply

