Monday Morning Coffee

I am not really a fan of HDR processing.  It seems gimmicky to me.  But of course, I have to try it out myself just to see if I can do anything with it that satisfies my vision of my photography.  So this is what I came up with that seems cool to me.  It isn’t too crazy for HDR I think, but just enough to give it some edge and it seems to work with this picture of my son on his bike.  So I can’t dismiss HDR completely but its important to keep in mind that as with all things, a little moderation is a good thing.  I used two speedlights to light him even though it was a bright, sunny day.  I wanted high key lighting to get the effect I was looking for after the HDR processing.  In the end, I like this well enough although it is really just another example of the types of images we see all over flickr and I just don’t see the need to flood the world with more of the same thing.  So I’ll keep working on my vision knowing that at this point HDR may only be a small part of my photography.

Leave a Reply

